Grid Sage Forums

• April 28, 2024, 02:51:31 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

LINKS: Website | Steam | Wiki

Author Topic: Coverage Vs Integrity Formula  (Read 5063 times)

SimonScience

• Unaware
    • View Profile
Coverage Vs Integrity Formula
« on: December 12, 2018, 03:30:01 PM »

Coverage Vs Integrity Formula
Quick notes:
My math may be wrong here, so feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.
I'm not that good at the game yet! I've only gotten to reaserch recently. So if anything I say dosent make sense for the late game, thats why.

In the game, how long an item is going to last (while in use) is decided by two variables:

Integrity is the amount of damage that part can take before it is destroyed
Coverage is the chance that item takes damage

Therefore, there is a tricky question that comes up on how to compare the "durability" of items that have inverse relations of integrity and coverage.

For example, take the Compact Whell vs the Wheel (the comparison that made me do this in the first place)

Wheel:
Integrity:40
Coverage:50

Compact Wheel:
Integrity:30
Coverage:30

The Wheel is more durable, AKA it can tank more damage, but the Compact Wheel has less coverage, AKA it is less likeley to take damage in the first place. So, how do we find out which will last longer?

Awnser: A lot of math.

So first off, because the odds of getting hit is proportional to the rest of the coverage on Cogmind, this measure assumes the rest of the coverage on Cogmind will stay the same. Of course, this isint really true. Other parts can break and lower your coverage drastically. But, if we assume that you are doing this calculation for an item you dont want to break, we can assume you have spares or a good suply of those other items (or at least items of similar coverage). If you attach a new part that has drastically more or less coverage, you can just recalculate.