Grid Sage Forums

• May 03, 2024, 10:41:46 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

LINKS: Website | Steam | Wiki

Author Topic: Hit chance waiting vs dropping/detaching  (Read 1167 times)

Xll

• Unaware
    • View Profile
Hit chance waiting vs dropping/detaching
« on: February 27, 2022, 10:36:51 AM »

Hi,

I just started playing this game, but I have noticed and it looks weird to me that apparently and based on the in-game manual it is more optimal to drop an item and shoot than wait a turn and shoot.

I am talking about hit chance. The numbers are very simple, if waiting takes 100 and dropping/detaching takes 50 and the hit chance bonus is 10% if the attacker did not move in the previous action... Dropping an item (that is an action) is faster than simply waiting a turn and it gives the same hit chance bonus.

¿Is this the intended behavior or am I understanding something wrong?

Thanks

Kyzrati

• Administrator
  • True Cogmind
    • View Profile
    • Cogmind
Re: Hit chance waiting vs dropping/detaching
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2022, 07:37:22 PM »

Yup, technically that is correct, performing the drop action counts as well since it's not a move, but aside from causing your first volley to take extra time (time which cannot otherwise be mitigated by volley speed-increasing setups), there can also often be tactical drawbacks to doing so depending on the circumstances (including from unexpected changes to the circumstances).
Josh Ge, Developer - Dev Blog | @GridSageGames | Patreon

Xll

• Unaware
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2022, 12:15:01 AM »

But waiting vs dropping an item is even worse right? I am unaware of those drawbacks, besides the extra time before the volley. But I was thinking that having that bonus is probably well worth waiting 50.

In my tests I am aiming at a scavenger with for example 55% base hit.