Grid Sage Forums

• May 03, 2024, 05:55:21 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

LINKS: Website | Steam | Wiki

Author Topic: Cogmind on M1, possible?  (Read 1710 times)

amroc

• Unaware
    • View Profile
Cogmind on M1, possible?
« on: November 11, 2021, 07:59:02 AM »

Just wondering if anyone has found a way to make this work on an Apple Silicon machine? I've tried Wine and Crossover, but no luck (it just stays on the black launch screen). FWIW Kyzrati I've read your rant about Apple, and as a dev myself I totally understand.

Kyzrati

• Administrator
  • True Cogmind
    • View Profile
    • Cogmind
Re: Cogmind on M1, possible?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2021, 12:45:14 AM »

Hi amroc, sorry for the delayed reply, didn't get a notification that this post was in the mod filter.

Luigi on the Discord did do a ton of tests and research into this since he has an M1, and eventually got it running at somewhat reasonable speeds, but there's just so many layers at work there that it can still get slow, and take quite a while to start up, at that. I don't recall what the final final verdict was, other than that he did give up actually playing it that way and stuck to his windows machine.

For the details you could consider hitting him up on Discord. I know he figured out some particular config options to get it working a lot better than what was happening by default. From what I recall it's a not very ideal, though.

(Also sorry about the lack of support there... rant apparently seen xD)
Josh Ge, Developer - Dev Blog | @GridSageGames | Patreon

Kyzrati

• Administrator
  • True Cogmind
    • View Profile
    • Cogmind
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2021, 06:29:29 PM »

Here's some more info since I was just talking to Luigi about it today: