Grid Sage Forums

• May 02, 2024, 05:12:32 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

LINKS: Website | Steam | Wiki

Author Topic: Files saved in REXPaint are blank  (Read 1802 times)

teksts

• Unaware
    • View Profile
Files saved in REXPaint are blank
« on: October 08, 2020, 10:01:44 AM »

Hi all! I'm quite new to REXPaint, so I'm not sure if there's some crucial setup step that I'm missing, but I've been having issues saving my art. When I finish something and save it, everything seems to work properly -- but when I open the file from the images folder, REXPaint opens blank. Anybody have any idea why this would be happening and how I can fix it?

Thanks!

Kyzrati

• Administrator
  • True Cogmind
    • View Profile
    • Cogmind
Re: Files saved in REXPaint are blank
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2020, 04:11:09 PM »

Hi teksts, my first thought on reading this is that it sounds like your current OS settings are not allowing REXPaint to actually write to the disk? (As the included readme states, REXPaint must have write access to its own directory, otherwise it cannot save files or settings.) This can happen for a number of reasons depending on your system.

That said, your description here isn't entirely clear so I can't be sure of the steps you're taking to get this result. Like "when I open the file from the images folder" is not even something REXPaint is capable of (opening an image by using your system's file browser will not work).

Unless you mean something more along the lines of you 1) save an image, 2) exit REXPaint, 3) there is no image in REXPaint's /images/ directory, or available in REXPaint when you start it up again. That would be a description for the case I was describing, being unable to write to disk, which is the most likely cause here.
Josh Ge, Developer - Dev Blog | @GridSageGames | Patreon

teksts

• Unaware
    • View Profile