Grid Sage Forums

Grid Sage Forums

  • September 25, 2017, 11:39:53 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Grid Sage Wiki Now Open

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: Any luck with Wine on OSX? [SOLUTIONS INSIDE]  (Read 14493 times)

skymaker

  • Unaware
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Any luck with Wine on OSX? [SOLUTIONS INSIDE]
« Reply #50 on: August 16, 2016, 06:39:06 PM »

Thanks Kyzrati; I'll give that thread a look. =)
Logged

16161d

  • Unaware
  • *
  • Supported Cogmind Alpha Access 2015-2017 (Prime Tier)
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Bandcamp
Re: Any luck with Wine on OSX? [SOLUTIONS INSIDE]
« Reply #51 on: August 24, 2016, 06:30:35 PM »

I've had no problems with Cogmind on Wine besides that the mouse cursor is very choppy and drags a bit. I have a feeling like theres a setting somewhere when creating the wine config that will remedy this as I've faced the issue with other wine builds and resolved it, but I'm not aware of a solution right now.


EDIT: Tried another build using the step by step guide in this thread and the mouse now works smoothly again. Glad I found this thread. I hope we can get a wrapper included in the Steam release eventually!
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 07:35:55 PM by 16161d »
Logged
/u/16161d

Kyzrati

  • Administrator
  • True Cogmind
  • *****
  • Posts: 2487
    • View Profile
    • Cogmind
Re: Any luck with Wine on OSX? [SOLUTIONS INSIDE]
« Reply #52 on: August 24, 2016, 08:04:15 PM »

Yep, a wrapper is definitely planned! The main reason it hasn't happened already is it's not something I can easily do myself, so will probably rely on outside help...
Logged
Josh Ge, Developer - Dev Blog | @GridSageGames

Chad

  • Unaware
  • *
  • Supported Cogmind Alpha Access 2015-2017 (Prime Tier) Achievement leader in at least one category during Alpha Challenge 2015 Participated in the Alpha Challenge 2015 Weekly Seed Participant
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Any luck with Wine on OSX? [SOLUTIONS INSIDE]
« Reply #53 on: September 01, 2016, 01:31:34 PM »

Status update about my "special" problem.
Had a partial success two weeks ago using "Set Maxfiles to 10240", but it worked just twice...

But today I just randomly started the game on my Macbook and all problems were gone! I haven't done anything on the Macbook (haven't even rebooted...). Finally, I can play Cogmind on both, my iMac and Macbook. But where the probelm was? I don't know. I hope it will be gone forver!

Thx for the support Kyzrati (can't wait for the next patch)!
Logged

Kyzrati

  • Administrator
  • True Cogmind
  • *****
  • Posts: 2487
    • View Profile
    • Cogmind
Re: Any luck with Wine on OSX? [SOLUTIONS INSIDE]
« Reply #54 on: September 01, 2016, 06:33:45 PM »

Okay, well, that's odd, wonder what changed xD. I always try to help when I can!--or get someone else to help :P

Next release will take a little longer, but it'll be a nice one!
Logged
Josh Ge, Developer - Dev Blog | @GridSageGames

FisherMUN

  • Unaware
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Any luck with Wine on OSX? [SOLUTIONS INSIDE]
« Reply #55 on: August 27, 2017, 05:01:34 AM »

TLDR: Cogmind still works flawlessly in wineskin in 2017.

I thought it might provide some peace of mind to know that c909's original wineskin instructions and GlennEhrlich's subsequent fullscreen for wineskin instructions work flawlessly on a Early 2011 MacBook Pro in OSX 10.11.3 (El Capitan) running Cogmind V2.1.

I primarily use the mouse and some original keybindings. When I say flawlessly I do mean flawlessly.

@Kyzrati, I wouldn't waste any time developing or even thinking about developing a cross-platform solution. I fully agree with your plan, if an official wrapper is going to exist find somebody else to do it for you.
Logged

Kyzrati

  • Administrator
  • True Cogmind
  • *****
  • Posts: 2487
    • View Profile
    • Cogmind
Re: Any luck with Wine on OSX? [SOLUTIONS INSIDE]
« Reply #56 on: August 27, 2017, 07:35:24 AM »

Thanks for the update and vote of confidence, FisherMUN!

I've certainly postponed even the wrapper simply because it's so easy to get setup now, though I imagine I'll still want to do one eventually. For now anyway I decided it's more important to do Steam first, since that involves learning about their installer system which I don't even understand in Windows yet :P

When I say flawlessly I do mean flawlessly.
:D
Logged
Josh Ge, Developer - Dev Blog | @GridSageGames
Pages: 1 2 [3]